The Technical Unit (TX) is a systemwide bargaining unit of non-supervisory technical support personnel in a highly diverse unit who provide a great range of technical support services for academic and scientific research throughout the UC system and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). The unit is represented by the University Professional and Technical Employees union (UPTE). Currently, the unit includes approximately 3,591* employees.

An approximate breakdown of the number of technical support personnel at each location is as follows:

Location Headcount
Berkeley 390
Davis (Campus & Medical Center) 793
Irvine (Campus & Medical Center) 196
LBNL 136
Los Angeles (Campus & Medical Center) 700
Merced 38
Riverside 133
San Diego (Campus & Medical Center) 576
San Francisco (Campus & Medical Center) 327
Santa Barbara 152
Santa Cruz 128
Total 3,591

*FTP Data, April 2017

Dues/Agency Fee

The state Higher Education Employer-Employee Relations Act (HEERA) was amended in January 2000 to establish an "agency shop" at the University of California (HEERA §3583.5). By law, UC employees who are represented by a union but do not join and pay membership dues are required to pay a "fair share" fee through mandatory paycheck deductions. The deductions are paid to the union to help cover the union's costs for negotiations, contract administration, and related representational activities.

Fair share fees must be paid by all employees in the TX Unit who are not members of the University Professional and Technical Employees union (UPTE) whether or not they support the union. The only exception under the law is for an employee "who is a member of a bona fide religion, body or sect that has historically held conscientious objections to joining or financially supporting public employee organizations." (HEERA §3584). Employees may apply to UPTE for conscientious objector (CO) status. Once UPTE grants CO status, the employee may select one of the charities agreed to by UPTE and UC, to which the fees will be paid (see chart below).

Employees who wish to apply for conscientious objector status should contact UPTE directly.

UPTE dues structure and fair share fees

(effective January 2017)

Dues Structure / Values Agency Fee Amount CO Charities

1.3% of retirement gross / $75.00

LBNL: $65 cap

1.3% of retirement gross $22.00 cap (unrepresented)

1.3% of retirement gross / $75.00

LBNL: $65 cap

Pediatric AIDS; Komen Foundation; Oxfam